Zoodles Pt. Toodles!

Posted on December 13, 2015. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Now, since I try to stay away from processed foods and most meats, I need to get a little creative on how I get some of my vitamins. Something I try to eat almost every day is spinach, black beans, and avocado. I normally have a salad with those things, but even though I love that salad, I don’t want to get bored eating the same thing every day.

I had bought 2 zucchini when I made my last batch of Zoodles, so, I thought, “Why not make another?” But, I used all the tomatoes on the last one, so what kind of sauce? I’ve seen avocado pastas before, and decided to give it a try. Mulling it over before I went to sleep, I decided I had to use black beans and coconut oil in it as well. (Don’t ask me why) .

This sauce sounds weird, trust me, I get it. HOWEVER, it tastes AWESOME. Something I forgot to do was get some of the water out of the zucchini, so everything was a little loose, but besides that, flavors were on point.

IMG_20151213_135357

Zoodles with peppers, tomatoes and an avocado black bean sauce

Here’s what to get from the store:

Zucchini
Black Beans
Avocado
Coconut oil
Yellow Pepper
Lemon Juice
Roma Tomato

Black Bean Avocado Sauce for Zoodles

1/2 avocado
1 clove garlic
1 tbsp black beans
1/4 cup coconut oil (give or take)
Splash of lemon juice
Salt, pepper, tumeric, curry powder, cumnin, paprika

  1. Put everything in a blender and blend together. Taste for seasoning and adjust.
  2. Saute your zoodles with 2 cloves garlic and red onion, add diced Roma tomatoes, spinach and yellow pepper. Add the sauce and stir.
  3. Serve garnished with siracha and more black beans.

I am LOVING this weather we’re having up here. My window is open and Christmas is in 12 days. It doesn’t happen here very often and it makes me so much happier. Sure, it’s raining and we don’t have sun, but I’m not shivering.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

