Fittin in the Yoga

Posted on December 17, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

Ten months ago when I started on my yoga journey, there were a few things I expected. I wanted to get in shape, and get more flexible. While those things have happened, there’s a ton of things I wasn’t expecting that have been much more beneficial. I went from having no metabolism, only eating one meal a day, to having a really fast metabolism. If I don’t eat what feels like 10 times a day, I’m starving. I have way  more balance. Today I was able to do a half head stand (that’s a head stand with my knees on my elbows) without actually using the wall, and I was able to hold it for about 20 seconds.

But, the most important benefit I’ve received from my daily practice is self confidence. When I was a kid I had almost none, the older I got, the more my confidence grew. But, it wasn’t until I started practicing yoga that I really became confident. It didn’t come over night, obviously, but gradually.  About a month ago I started noticing I’ve been getting more attention from a higher caliber of men. Maybe it’s my new shape, maybe it’s my confidence, or maybe it’s the sign I have on my head that says “I’m single and I really don’t care if that changes”. Whatever it is, it doesn’t really matter. I finally came into my own, and I couldn’t be happier.

Everyone needs and deserves something that does those things for them. I’m always going to suggest yoga, because that’s my thing, but it doesn’t have to be your thing. It could be running. It could just simply be getting up and walking around the block.

I don’t do New Years resolutions anymore, but, I suggest if you do, pick something that will simply make you more confident in your self. I don’t care what it is, if you want help, I’ll help. I would love to see my friends feel just as good about themselves as I do about myself.

Just remember, whatever you do, change isn’t instant. It took me ten years to get to the fitness level that actually made me feel amazing.

You can do it. If a lazy kid who barely wanted to walk anywhere can do it, so can you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

