Cheesing

Posted on December 29, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Sorry about this being so late! Life got in the way, and I’m not going to be able to cook this week, so this is the only post. (I need to plan my vacation).

I wanted to make some appetizers for Christmas, like I did for Thanksgiving. One of the things I made was the pastry puff wrapped asparagus I’ve made before. That one was a big hit, there was none left. Instead of just a regular aioli, I made a baslmic aioli to dip it in, and that turned out really well. The other thing I made was a brie wrapped in puff pastry (I can’t remember the French name for it) with cranberries and pine nuts. I love brie and was really impressed with how well it turned out. (Ok, not really, I’m actually pretty awesome)

Both recipes are really easy, and don’t take too much time at all.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Brie
Cranberries
Pine nutes
Puff pastry
Balsamic vinegar

Balsamic Garlic Aioli

1 egg
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp balsamic reduction
1 cp olive oil
Salt, pepper, parsley, basil, oregno

  1. Put about 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan, bring to a boil and let reduce by half. You may have more than a tablespoon, you can store it in the fridge for at least a week.
  2. In a blender, place egg, lemon juice, garlic, reduction and seasonings. Blend to make an emulsion. Slowly drizzle in the olive oil while blending to mix.

Baked Brie with Cranberries and Pine nuts
(I didn’t measure anything, sorry guys!)

Cranberries
Brown Sugar
Pink Moscato
Orange Juice
Cinnamon
1 wheel brie
1 puff pastry sheet

  1. In a skillet, place about 10 cranberries with equal parts Moscato and orange juice. Add cinnamon and about a tablespoon on brown sugar. Cook until just before they start popping. Drain and toss in some white sugar.
  2. In another skillet, toast about a tablespoon of pine nuts until brown.
  3. Place the cranberries and pine nuts on top of a wheel of brie. Place the brie in the center of a puff pastry sheet.
  4. Bring the corners up to the top and make sure to seal everything together, you may need to use some water.
  5. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes, or until the puff pastry is brown.

You’d think that winter would be slower for restaurants, but you’d be wrong. Last week was one of the busiest weeks I’ve worked between the two jobs, and this week is gearing up to be pretty busy as well. On top of that, my insoles on my shoes broke down and I need new ones. You never really realize how important good shoes are until they star breaking down. My legs and feet HURT after work.

New year is coming soon. Some people make resolutions, I don’t really do that anymore. I don’t see the point. I know it’s mostly symbolic, still don’t see a point. Besides, I don’t need to change anything, I’m pretty fantastic as it is

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

