Veggin out

Posted on January 5, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I get inspired at the most random times. Today, it was during my yoga practice while watching Chopped Jr. I had been thinking about soup all day because I was freezing, but the idea for a veggie burger popped in my head. I had all the ingredients here, so why not?

I wanted something hearty and filling, and, it was hearty (I’m starving, guys), but not exactly filing. It should be, it’s essentially a fiber patty, but I apparently need all of the food.

This recipe is super easy to make, and really quick as well. If you don’t like the curry flavor, it is very easy to change the flavor as broccoli and quinoa lend themselves very well to any sort of flavor. It can be vegan, too, if you chose to leave off the cheese and use a different vehicle than store bought bread.

Broccoli Black Bean Burger

Here’s what to get from the store:

Quinoa
Broccoli
Black Beans
Bread crumbs
Bread
Sliced Cheese (optional)
Bread

Broccoli Black Bean Burger

1 cp cooked quinoa
1 cp cooked broccoli
2 cloves garlic
1/2 can black beans
1/4 cp bread crumbs
flour (if needed)
Splash lemon juice
Salt, pepper, curry powder, paprika, turmeric, cayenne

  1. In a blender, pulse the broccoli with garlic and black beans until almost a puree.
  2. Add seasonings and pulse some more.
  3. Put the mixture in a bowl and add the quiona, bread crumbs and stir. If the mixture is a little loose, add flour until it can stick together. Add a splash of lemon juice.
  4. Form patties and cook in a preheated pan with oil until brown on both sides. Add desired cheese, and cover with a lid to let melt.
  5. If you’re using bread, toast on both sides. Add toppings and enjoy!

Seeing as this is my first post of the year, I thought about talking about the last year. Last year was a little rough, but I’m not focusing on that. Yes, I had car problems, but my parents were always there to help me, and dad even helped me get my new car. Yes, I thought I lost 2 girls I had called best friends, but really, Shawn has been there (and she’s dealt with a lot of crap). I had my professional life questioned, but I came out on top.

I think that last year wasn’t so bad. I started my journey of bettering myself and I’m so excited to keep going. I’ve gotten to the point that I don’t even weigh myself because I look so amazing. My confidence has gone up, I have so much more energy.I can finally see all the changes I’ve made in the past 10 years. I’m so proud of myself and where I’ve gotten and where I’m going to go.

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

