Rockin Ramen

Posted on January 8, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Tweet Tweet Tweet….anyone? No? Ok lol

So, before I start my post about the awesome food I just made, I would like to say, that after years of insecurities about my body image, I finally, love how I look. It took over a year of diet changes and almost a year of yoga, but I finally love how I look. My body is still a work in progress, but it’s a great progress. I’m saying all this mainly because I know so many people who are still where I was a year ago. None of this is instant. The love for your body will be gradual, and you really won’t notice the difference until you wake up one day and go “Wow, I look HOT”. Don’t give up.

Now, onto the food.

I don’t know why, but I felt I had to make some homemade Ramen. The only Ramen I had ever had before today was the cheap little packets college students live on.

That is not even close to the real stuff. This recipe is really good, but it does take a while. I started around 7 and didn’t eat till 8:30. I also couldn’t find all the correct ingredients (thanks to living in NWI) but I got as close as I could.

Vegetarian Ramen with Hoisen Glazed Tofu

Here’s what to get from the store: (big list)

Seasame Seeds
Seasame paste (or peanut butter)
Chili Oil
Soy Sauce
Dried mushrooms (I used cremini, this recipe uses porchini)
Veggie Broth
Ginger Root
Canned Bamboo
Seasame Oil
Miso
Extra Firm Tofu
Green Onion
Baby Bok Choy (I used regular cabbage, couldn’t find bok choy)
Ramen noodles
Bean Sprouts

Vegetarian Ramen
(From A Side of Sweet)

For the Sesame Tare:

1 c. sesame seeds, toasted
2 T. of soy sauce or tamari
¼ c. sugar
⅓ c. chili oil
½ c. sesame paste or peanut butter
1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and roughly chopped
1 spring onion, thinly sliced

For the Broth:

8 c. boiling water
1 oz. dried porcini mushrooms
1 T. olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
2 T. of miso (I used red)
2 T. soy sauce or tamari
2 c. vegetable broth
3 cloves garlic, minced
1½ inch piece of fresh ginger, sliced

For the bamboo

200g canned and drained bamboo
1 tsp. sesame oil
1 T. soy sauce
2½ tsp. sugar
Pinch or two of chili flakes, to taste

For the tofu:

8 oz. extra-firm tofu, thinly sliced
1 T. sesame oil

For the fixings:

8 ounces ramen noodles (in a pinch, you can buy the easy Maruchan kind and discard the spice packet)
4 large eggs, soft boiled and gently peeled
3-4 green onions, thinly sliced
Handful of bean sprouts, blanched
4-6 baby bok choy, sliced in half and blanched

  1. Make the sesame tare (a seasoning base for the mushroom broth)
  2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.
Make the Broth:
  1. In large bowl, combine the boiling water and the dried mushrooms and let soak 15 minutes. Strain the mushrooms through a sieve. Reserve both the soaking water and the porcini, slice once cool.
  2. In a large saucepan or Dutch over, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and carrot, sauté 2 minutes.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together the miso and soy sauce (or tamari if you’re gluten free).
  4. Add the miso mixture, mushroom liquid, veggie broth, garlic, and ginger to your veggies and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Strain the broth over a bowl to remove the solids and discard them. Return to pain over medium heat and bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
Make the bamboo
  1. In a skillet, heat 1 tsp. sesame oil over medium and stir-fry the bamboo until dry. Add the soy sauce, sugar and chili flakes and cook until dry. Watch carefully as they will burn quickly!
Make the tofu:
  1. Heat 1 tablespoon of the sesame oil in a large skillet or sauté pan over medium-high heat. Add the tofu and cook until crispy and golden. Flip to ensure even cooking, about 5-8 minutes total.
Assemble the ramen:
  1. Before you begin, have everything laid out so you can work quickly. Have the pot of broth warm on the stove.
  2. Heat a large pot of water to boiling and cook the ramen according to package direction or until tender (about 8 minutes). Drain and remove from heat.
  3. Divy up broth between your serving bowls and equally divide the sesame tare between them. Whisk to combine. Add the cooked ramen. Top each bowl with mushrooms, soft-boiled eggs, bamboo shoots, tofu, and green onions.

Normally I say the personal stuff here, but I already did.

I rock.

And I’m hot.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

