Can’t Tuna Fish

Posted on January 15, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

There’s a show I watch on TLC called My 600 lb Life. It follows one person per episode in a year long journey to get down to a healthy weight. Something I’ve noticed about every since one of those people is that they have such an emotional attachment to food they don’t see that it’s killing them. Most of the time they have family members enabling them in their unhealthy lifestyle. A lot of times they don’t even understand what they’re doing is killing themselves.

The Dr. that helps them makes sure they lose weight before he does a gastric bypass, to make sure that they will be able to make the lifestyle change.  Every episode I watch, the person says “I didn’t know it would be this hard”. It’s very hard, you have to completely change a large part of your life. In the later episodes the Dr. sends them to a psychologist to help them with the underlying problems.

Something they do learn, as I learned, is that eating needs a balance. You need to eat mostly healthy, but until you’ve hit a goal it’s more important to stick to things that are better for you.

With the cold, I’ve wanted some strong comfort food, and a lot of times that leans towards tuna casserole. Problem is, since I limit the amount of processed foods I eat, I wasn’t sure how my stomach would react to the Velveeta, so, I decided to make the cheese sauce. I made fried shallots to put on top. My stomach is not going to be happy, its a lot more grease than I’ve had in a while.

This recipe is not healthy, but it is low processed. (I did put broccoli in it, yeah fiber). It is easy, but it does have a few steps.

Tuna Casserole with Broccoli and Fried Shallots

Here’s what to get from the store:

Shallots
Panko
Buttermilk
Milk
Egg noodles
Tuna
Cornmeal
Shredded cheese
Butter

Tuna Casserole with Broccoli and Fried Shallots

For the Shallots:

2 shallots, diced
Equal parts flour, panko, cornmeal
1 cup buttermilk
Salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne

For the Cheese Sauce

3 tbsp butter
3 tbsp flour
1 shallot, diced
2 cloves garlic, smashed
2 cps milk
2 cps shredded cheese
Siracha
Salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika

For the casserole

Cheese Sauce
Fried Shallots
Egg noodes
1 large can tuna
1 cup cooked broccoli

  1. Put the flour, panko, cornmeal and seasonings in a bowl. Put the buttermilk in a separate bowl. Dip the shallots in the buttermilk, then the flour, then buttermilk and flour again. Fry in a cast iron skillet with canola oil until brown. Put on a paper towel and season with salt. Set aside.
  2. In a skillet, melt the butter and saute the shallots and garlic until fragrant. Add the flour and mix. Once it turns to a light brown, add in the milk and stir. Keep stirring until it starts to thicken up, then add the cheese. (I did sharp cheddar and a cheddar jack blend).
  3. Add the cheese, broccoli and tuna to the cooked noodles. Put in a square pan, top with more cheese and the crispy shallots.
  4. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the cheese starts bubbling.

I’ve been pushing myself through my yoga recently, and my muscles are actually starting to hurt. It’s kind of great, honestly. Even though my back muscles hurt from learning hand stands, and my hamstrings and sore a lot, I feel amazing. I can feel muscles I never thought I had, and that’s really cool.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

