Crustin

Posted on January 27, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

This time of year I see a TON of advertisements for weight loss support groups, apps, diet plans, ect. A lot of them suggest counting either points or calories or whatever. From personal experience, that doesn’t really work that well. When I was using a calorie counter, I’d see that I had worked off X amount of calories in my workout, then would eat as much as I burned. Not really a good plan.

The plan should be to teach you how to make better choices and how to balance what you do eat. I’ve actually gotten to the point where I crave healthy stuff instead of the unhealthy stuff. Yesterday I bought gelato, cause my hormones were asking for it, but I didn’t open it. This didn’t come overnight though, it took a long time.

Every time I see my parents now, my mom asks if I want some more frozen broccoli and tomatoes. I’m pretty convinced that they could have supplied a grocery store with tomatoes and broccoli this past season…

I only took broccoli this time, and decided I wanted to try out one of those “pizza” crusts with it. It was very easy to make, but I didn’t grease the pan, so it didn’t want to come off the foil (my fault). Other than that, it was pretty good. Broccoli doesn’t have to strong of a flavor so topping it was pretty easy.

If you’re looking to cut carbs, this would be a good way to do it with adding some extra vitamins into your dish.

Broccoli "Crust" Pizza Topped with Yellow Squash, Asparagus, Mushrooms and Shallots in Baslmic Reduction

Here’s what to get from the store:

Broccoli
Parmesan Cheese
Yellow Squash
Asparagus
Button Mushrooms
Shallots
Balsamic

Broccoli “Pizza” Crust

1 cup broccoli
1 egg
Parmesan Cheese
3 cloves garlic
1 shallot, chopped
Asparagus, chopped and blanched
1 Yellow Squash, diced and sauteed
3 Button Mushrooms, sliced
Balsamic Vinegar

  1. Pulse the broccoli in a food processor until it is chopped as much as possible. Add one of the cloves of garlic and process some more.
  2. Put the broccoli in some paper towels to squeeze out as much of the water as possible.
  3. In a bowl, mix the broccoli with one egg, and some Parmesan cheese. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Spread onto a greased cookie sheet to resemble a pizza crust.
  5. Cook in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes, or when the edges start to brown.
  6. While the crust is in the oven, saute the shallots and garlic until fragrant. Add just enough Balsamic vinegar to cover the onions, and let reduce.
  7. When the crust comes out of the oven, add your toppings, finishing with the reduction and some more cheese. Put back into the oven to melt the cheese. Cut into pizza slices and enjoy!

I’ve upped the intensity of my yoga practice recently. I can actually get into a triangle head stand and I’m trying to not use the wall. The result are some very sore shoulders, but it’s a great feeling. I’m trying to flatten my stomach out just a little more before Shawn and I go to L.A in March, and I think I can do it.

I’m coming up on my year mark of my yoga practice, and I’m proud of myself. It was an amazing decision to start and I am much healthier because of it. Whatever you decide to do should make you feel just as great as my yoga makes me feel. Don’t give up.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

