Bean-o

Posted on February 11, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

This is the slow time of year for restaurants and retail alike, so I’m off a little more than I’m used to. I technically have 2 days off. I did my chores. It’s weird.

As I’m sure you know, I watch a lot of My 600 lb life. It’s very interesting to me, to see why people end up obese to the point of not being able to walk. The one unifying theme that comes up time and time again is “No one told me food was to fuel my body”. That’s a very important thing to know. As a society, we value food a lot. Heck, my favorite holiday is Thanksgiving because of the food. However, most people treat every day like Thanksgiving, and that’s a little concerning.

Food, first and foremost needs to fuel the body, then for pleasure. I love everything I eat, but I make sure what I eat has vitamins that I need. And you know what? It works. I have so much energy all the time, and can eat almost whatever I want, because most of the time I eat very healthy.

Changing your eating habits, though, is very hard. It’s a lot easier when you’re busy to go for the packaged snacks and the drive through. I get it, trust me. When I first started this journey, when I craved something sweet, I’d reach for raisins. When I craved something crunchy (my FAVORITE THING EVER) I’d pop popcorn on the stove. Yea, dried fruits have a lot of sugar, and popcorn still isn’t the best, but those options are still better than candy and chips.

The best thing to do when you’re changing anything, is to take baby steps. Before you know it, you’ll be doing something much healthier and you’ll barely notice. I automatically go for healthier options now. I have candy and ice cream that I’ve bought…that I haven’t eaten. Haven’t even opened. It’s weird, even if I’ve been like this for a few months.

Speaking of healthy things, all week I wanted tacos. Shawn and I went for Mexican last night, but I wanted to make something myself to, so I settled on burritos instead. Now, I HATE when people make recipes for sandwiches, tacos, burritos ect. IT’S NOT THAT HARD. But, I did make homemade refried beans and guacamole to put in the burrito, so let’s focus on those recipes.

These are both very easy recipes, the beans are mostly vegetarian (I had to use butter because my coconut oil isn’t refined, and no one wants coconut flavored refried beans) and the guacamole is very healthy for you.

Tofu Burrito with Homemade Refried Beans and Guacamole

Here’s what to get from the store:

Pinto Beans
Avocado
Tomato
Jalapeno
Onion
Garlic

Vegetarian Refried Beans
(Based off Money Saving Mom)(She used dried beans, I used canned)

1 large can pinto beans
3 T. healthy fat
1 cup chopped onion
5 cloves minced garlic
2 1/2 t. cumin
2 t. paprika
2 t. sea salt
1/2 t. cayenne pepper
1/2 t. black pepper

  1. In a large pot or saucepan, saute the onions in the fat until they are soft and translucent. Add the minced garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes more.
  2. Add the beans, liquid from the can and all.
  3. Stir in the cumin, paprika, salt, cayenne, and black pepper. Bring to a slow simmer and allow it all to cook on low heat for 10-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Once the beans have cooked down for a while and the flavors have had time to incorporate, mash them with a potato masher, fork

Guacamole

3 avocados
1 Roma tomato, chopped
Juice of 1 lime
2 cloves garlic, smashed
2 jalepenos
1/4 cp red onion, diced
Salt, pepper

  1. Char the jalapenos over an open flame or on your burner. Let cool, then dice.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the avocados with the lime juice.
  3. Add the garlic, onion, jalepenos, salt and pepper and stir. Taste and adjust for seasoning.

The other day, my hard yoga practice became my easy one. I can now feel my back muscles start to form and it feels great. My muscles actually hurt sometimes, and that’s a wonderful feeling. I wake up with a flat stomach (but I bloat as soon as I eat, it’s so weird!) and I never thought I’d see that. This week actually marks the one year anniversary of my start in the yoga process, and I’m very happy with how far it’s taken me.

Yoga has taught me to slow down, and how to listen to my body. It’s taught me to breath. I am more in tune with everything around me than I ever was before. It’s enlightening.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

