Fritten

Posted on February 18, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Besides my family, there are only 3 people I exchange presents with at Christmas now, Shawn, Neil and Maureen. I’ve become Shawn’s Amazon shopper, and she’s become my Macy’s shopper, works out great. Neil and Maureen always ask me what I like, and I never know. This year, I said ramekins. They were something I didn’t have…or have room for, but still, something every cook should have.

I’ve been wondering for about 2 months now what I should make in them first. I don’t know why I thought of this (I think I’d seen something like it before?) but sometime on Monday I thought “Little Frittatas!” And, instead of a crust, why not sweet potatoes? I know the sweet potato crust has shown up on Pinterest a few times.

If you exercise a lot, you need a lot of protein to make sure your muscles grow correctly. Normally I throw a hard boiled egg and black beans on my salad, (I have some REALLY smelly gas…the burlesque girls don’t care, the server and bartender coworkers freak out a little bit…sorry ladies, this is what a healthy colon smells like. OK TMI, I get it). Back to the original story, I wanted something different. I lengthened my yoga practice again so I’ve been building more muscle. Longer yoga practice also means higher metabolism, and I honestly thought they would fill me up (they didn’t).

This recipe is very easy and very customizeable. If you don’t like something I used, you can always switch it out. The whole thing is very healthy because the crust is sweet potato and not a normal  crust.

Spinach, Mushroom, and Pepper Frittata with a Sweet Potato Crust

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet potato
Eggs
Spinach
Mushrooms
Brussels Sprouts
Red Pepper
Shallot
Shredded Parmesan

Mini Frittatas with Sweet Potato Crust

1/2 sweet potato, cut in rounds
1 small shallot, chopped
2 cloves garlic, diced
2 Brussels Sprouts, chopped
Diced Red Bell Pepper
1 Full egg plus 1 egg white
Handful Spinach

Handful Shredded ParmesanSalt, Pepper
Siracha

  1. Cut your sweet potato into thin rounds, using a mandoline. Grease the ramekins with olive oil. Put the rounds into the ramekins to make a crust. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. When you take the crust out, lower the oven to 325
  2. While the crust is cooking, saute the vegetables with salt and pepper.
  3. In a bowl, whisk the eggs then add the vegetables and a little bit of cheese.
  4. Put the egg and veggie mixture into the prepared ramekins. Bake for another 10 minutes, top with more cheese, then bake another 10, or until the eggs are cooked through. Top with Sriracha, if you like.

I’ve been SO HUNGRY recently. Problem is, when I get hungry, I get very thirsty. I get thirsty, I drink my weight in water. I discovered, the more hydrated you are, the less sleep you need. Doesn’t matter what I’m doing, I can be awake a lot longer.

Along with the hunger, I’ve had a lot more energy too. I’ve had a lot over the past year, but it’s increased a lot over the past month. I’m not complaining, I’m just surprised how much I can do. I’ve added another sequence of warrior poses and sun salutation to my daily yoga practice, and while it’s hard, it’s not has hard as I thought. I’m so much stronger now, and I can feel myself getting much stronger. It’s really cool.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

