Hummus? You Barely Know Us!

Posted on February 18, 2016. Filed under: Appitizers, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

According to Facebook, 8 years ago yesterday, my college roommate, Katie and I cooked all the food. For not that many people. I get like that sometimes, I start cooking and I can’t stop. Yesterday was another one of those days. I used only half of the sweet potato for my frittatas, and I didn’t want to just leave the rest of it.

So, I decided to make chips. And with chips, I need something to dip the chips in. I have a bad addiction to dipping things. I get made fun of at one of my jobs because I’ll get fries and about 6 different sauces. Anyway, I had seen avocado hummus online before and had all the ingredients, so why not?

This is very easy to make, and very healthy. The chips are oven baked and everything in hummus is good for you, packed with protein and fiber.

Garam Masala Spiced Sweet Potato Chips with Siracha Lime Avocado Hummus

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet Potato
Garam Masala
Chickpeas
Avocado
Lime
Tahini

Garam Masala Spiced Sweet Potato Chips

1 sweet potato
Olive Oil
Salt, Pepper, Garam Masala, Tumeric

  1. Slice the sweet potato into rounds using your mandoline, if you have one. Toss them in the oil and spices and spread on a baking sheet.
  2. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, making sure to stir. The thinner you cut the chips, the more crispy they will get, but make sure not to burn them!

Siracha Lime Avocado Hummus

1 1/2 avocado (you can use 1, I had a half lying around)
1 can chickpeas
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp tahini
Juice of 1 lime
Salt, Pepper
Siracha

  1. In your food processor, dump the can of chickpeas (liquid included), the avocado, garlic, tahini and lime juice. Blend until smooth, then add seasonings and siracha. Blend again, then taste to adjust seasonings.

I may have over done my yoga last night, my back is very sore today. It’s not awful, it’s kind of nice.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

