Where the Cookie Crumbles

Posted on February 24, 2016. Filed under: Breakfast, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

So I made these the same time I made everything else last Thursday, I was planning on just waiting to post it until this week because I originally had no time to cook this week, but mother nature decided to step in. (I’m currently working on some Whole Wheat Oatmeal Bread).

I’m always looking at different ways to use up bananas I didn’t eat. Luckily since I eat one almost every day, I generally don’t have any that get to far gone, but sometimes I do. I wanted to make something healthy that I could bring to work with me for breakfast.

Even though they’re technically cookies, they’re actually very good for you. I added flax and chia to the recipe I found, so once again, they’re full of fiber. They aren’t too sweet but they do satisfy that craving if you so want.

This recipe is very easy and takes no time at all. I used less honey than the suggested because I did want to keep sugar content a little lower.

Banana Breakfest Cookies

Here’s what to get from the store (you do need old bananas):

Flax
Oatmeal
Almond Butter
Chia
Dried Cranberries
Dried Dates

Banana Breakfast Cookies
(Based off Five Heart Home)

2 cups quick oats
1/2 cup Flax
1/4 cup chia seeds
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large bananas (ripe or slightly overripe), mashed (about 1 cup)
1/2 cup almond butter
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup dried dates

  1. Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Measure oats, flax, chia, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl; whisk to combine. Stir in mashed banana, almond butter, honey, vanilla, cranberries, and dates. Scoop dough using a scant 1/4-cup measuring cup for form 12 cookies. Flatten the top of each cookie on the baking sheet and bake for 14 to 16 minutes. Allow cookies to cool completely on baking sheet before storing in an airtight container.

The wind is the worst, here in NWI there isn’t anything to hold the wind back, so even if there isn’t that much snow, the wind can make it look like white out conditions. Also, my complex makes its own wind tunnel, so outside sounds like about a hundred ghosts are having a party.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

