I’m Egg-cited

Posted on February 28, 2016. Filed under: Breakfast, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Pretty much every day, I eat a spinach salad. It’s very good, but it’s not as filling as it used to be. I’ll get a few hours into work and be really hungry again.

That being said, I don’t eat at bdubs at all, and I try not to eat at Tommy bs every time I work. I’ve been pretty good at bringing a snack to work with me, but sometimes that doesn’t fill me up either. Friday night at work, I got some potstickers. I thought they were a little higher in calorie content, but I came to find out a whole order is only about 200 calories. No wonder I was still starving when I got home a few hours later.

To combat that, today I decided to make an omelet. It’s basically my salad, but with more eggs. The protein should keep me full longer. (I’m hoping). You’d think after about 6 months of having a faster metabolism that I’d be used to it, but I’m not. Feels like it’s getting faster.

There’s a few things to help your metabolism if it’s started slowing (age will do that). Drink a lot more water, and start adding some spice to your diet. Spicy foods help metabolism a bit. I like to add bell peppers to my salad, and when I make my dressing, I add sriracha.

This recipe is very easy and takes no time at all. It is very customizable, and there is nothing in it bad for you.

3 Egg Omelet

Here’s what to get from the store:

Eggs
Fresh Basil
Spinach
Orange Bell Pepper
Feta
Black Beans
Tomato
Srircha

3 Egg Omelet

3 eggs
1 tbsp chopped red onion
1 clove garlic, chopped and smashed
Small part of a bell pepper, cubed
1/2 small roma tomato, cubed
3 basil leaves, chopped
Handful of spinach
Black Beans, about a tbsp
Feta Cheese
Salt, pepper, cayenne, srircha

  1. Whisk the eggs in a bowl. Add the onion, garlic, basil, some of the spinach, salt and pepper.
  2. In a low sided skillet, heat some olive oil on med heat. Add the egg mixture. Let it cook until the top is the only part that is not cook. Season with salt, pepper and cayenne. With a large spatula, flip over the omelet. Season the other side a well.
  3. Once it has started to puff up a little, add some feta cheese to half of it. Then put some black beans, more spinach, and half of the pepper and tomato. Fold in half and put on a plate. Top with the rest of the pepper, tomato, more feta and spinach and srircha.

I’ve decided to add some more cardio to my workout, the strength training I have with my yoga practice is fantastic, but I feel like I need some more. I’ll be adding burpees and jumping jacks, and maybe I’ll start running again, we’ll see.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

