Pesto Chango!

Posted on March 3, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

I wasn’t expecting to cook a ton this week, since I’m gone next week and didn’t want to have a ton of leftovers stewing in my fridge. That, and I finally get to meet my friend Katie’s 6 month old daughter on Friday, and we always cook. She and her husband are doing a vegan diet now so I know we’ll have fun cooking.

I realized that I’m probably not eating all of the calories that I need to day to day. Last night at work, I wanted to bring some soup Mark and Laurel had brought me, but I changed my mind and didn’t. I went through my shift after only eating my spinach salad, which is maybe 300 calories. I was going to treat myself to a pasta dish from the B’s, but we were so slow, the kitchen closed before I could get some. I then ended up meeting friends up for drinks…and I had nachos. Either way, I still hadn’t eaten enough.

After craving pasta all day yesterday, I decided to make some at home. While in the shower, I had an idea to make an avocado spinach pesto. I feel I’d seen something like it online somewhere, but this recipe is all my own. That being said I measured…nothing. Sorry, I’m really bad at that.

That being said, this recipe is still pretty easy and very good for you. The pasta isn’t the best, but whole wheat is a better option than the more refined white pasta. Not going to lie, it took me a while to get used to it.

Whole Wheat Pasta with Avocado Spinach Pesto

Here’s what to get from the store:

Avocado
Spinach
Orange Bell Pepper
Button Mushrooms
Flax
Lemon Juice
Black Beans
Onion
Feta

Avocado Spinach Pesto

1/2 avocado
Handful Spinach
3 cloves garlic, peeled
About 1/4 cup flax seeds
Lemon Juice
Olive Oil
Salt, pepper, paprika, red pepper flakes
1/4 chunk of Orange bell pepper, diced
1 tbsp red onion, diced
2 button mushrooms, diced
Black Beans
Feta

  1. In a food processor, put the avocado, spinach, garlic, flax and spices. Start blending and then add the juice and oil. There should be more oil than lemon. Scrape and taste to adjust, it should be almost creamy.
  2. In a saute pan, saute the onion until fragrant, then add the pepper and mushrooms, with more salt and pepper. Add the pesto, black beans and mix. Add cooked pasta and toss to coat. Serve topped with feta cheese.

I’m kind of over this up and down weather, I’m really glad I haven’t gotten sick with all the ups and downs.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

