Twice the Fun!

Posted on March 20, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

You guys thought I forgot about you, did you? Last week I was on vacation and I came straight home to an 8 shift week. (I was originally scheduled 5..). Vacation was great…but…I gained a few pounds. We ate out more than I thought we were going to and I noticed it.

I came back and decided I had to fix that. This past week I upped my veggie intake and added a spinach and banana smoothie to my breakfast. The few extra pounds are gone, and my energy is back. (By the end of vacation I was a little run down. I only had time to go through my yoga practice once and it was obvious)

All week I was thinking about doing something for St. Paddy’s day, but I didn’t really want to do anything traditional. I’ve never really been super into white potatoes, but I’ve always loved sweet potatoes. They have a lot more flavor, and you can do quite a bit to them. Because of this, I decided to do a twice baked stuffed sweet potato.

Sweet potatoes are great because they have the extra beta carotene that white potatoes don’t have. Yes, they do have the extra sugar, but adding the right spices makes a really cool sweet and spicy flavor.

This recipe is pretty easy, but it does take a lot of time. Since there is a ton of down time, I went through my yoga practice while the potato was in the oven the first time, and let it cool while the quinoa was cooking. This recipe isn’t vegan, but to make it vegan, all you have to do is not put the cheddar on top.

Twice Baked Stuffed Sweet Potato

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet potato
Asparagus
Fresh Broccoli
Quinoa
Aged Irish Cheddar (Optional)

Twice Baked Sweet Potato

1 large sweet potato
3 pieces asparagus, diced
3 broccoli florets, diced
1 tbsp chopped red onion
2 cloves garlic, diced
1/4 cup quinoa
Salt, pepper, Tumeric, Cayenne
Block of Irish Cheddar (Optional)

  1. Cut your sweet potato in half length wise. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 50-60 minutes, or until cooked through. About 30 minutes in, sprinkle with salt and pepper.Set aside and let cool.
  2. While the potato is cooling, cook the quinoa until fluffy, about 20 minutes.
  3. Once the potato is cool, scoop out the middle, making sure not to break the skin.
  4. In a saute pan, saute the onion until fragrant. Add the asparagus, broccoli, garlic and spices and cook until bright green. Add the quinoa and sweet potato and mix. Taste to adjust seasoning.
  5. Put the mixture back into the shells and top with the shredded cheese, if you like. Bake for another 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

I’ve started working pretty hard to get ready for my move in July. I’m excited to finally be back in Illinois. While Indiana has been nice, I know the city is where I belong.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

