Rollin on the Riverrr

Posted on March 29, 2016. Filed under: Appitizers, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Not a bad song, if I say so myself.

Easter was a lot smaller this year than it has been in the past; normally my Aunt Peg hosts, but this year between her eldest getting his PHD and her youngest giving birth to her newest grandson, she decided to not host. (I guess she’s hosting next Sunday, but I’ll be working). So this year, it was just my parents, Sarah and Jacob.

I still wanted to make something. I kept seeing recipes for Buffalo chicken stuff, and decided I was going to do a veggie version. (Sarah’s been a vegetarian since high school). I’m not sure why, but I settled on Buffalo chickpea egg rolls. They’re simple, still pretty healthy, and SUPER good. Like, really good. I put celery in that batch, but I think if I did it again, I wouldn’t put the celery in them again. It ended up getting a little soft for my taste (but dad ate it, and he doesn’t like celery).

This recipe is very easy and takes almost no time at all. I didn’t make the Buffalo sauce, I bought that, but I could have if I’d had more time to prep. I ended up prepping on Thursday.

Buffalo Chickpea Egg Rolls

Here’s what to get from the store:

Chickpeas
Egg roll wrappers
Buffalo Sauce
Celery Sticks
Bleu Cheese Crumbles
Greek  Yogurt
Lemon Juice

Buffalo Chickpea Egg Rolls with Greek Yogurt Bleu Cheese Dip

For the Egg Rolls:
Egg Roll wrappers
Chickpeas
Buffalo Sauce
Bleu Cheese Crumbles
Celery Sticks

For the Dip:
1/2 Container Bleu Cheese Crumbles
1/4 cup Greek Yogurt
Splash Lemon Juice
Salt, Pepper, Cayanne

  1. Toss the chickpeas in the Buffalo sauce. To assemble the egg rolls, place one celery stick on the corner, then some chickpeas, then top with bleu cheese crumbles. Roll the rolls tightly, seal with water. Repeat until you feel you’ve made enough. Brush with olive oil, then bake in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes. If you’re pre baking, don’t brush with olive oil, only cook for 5 minutes. Day of, add the oil and cook for another 5.
  2. To make the dip: mix the crumbles, yogurt, juice and spices. Taste to adjust seasonings.
  3. Serve egg rolls topped with extra bleu cheese, more Buffalo sauce and the dip.

I started watching the documentary Cooked on Netflix.  In an episode I watched yesterday, one of the featured interviewees said “Eat whatever you want, you want a whole apple pie? Eat it, you want cookies, cake, eat those to. Just do one thing, make every since part of it. You know what will happen? You won’t make all it” It’s an interesting concept. If you make all of those things, they’ll be better for you than store bought, but, you’ll be so tired and over it afterwards that you won’t want to eat all of it. I’ve kind of always believed it, mainly because I’ve experienced baking a lot of stuff then not wanting to eat it all. And, as you know, I’ve been a huge advocate of cooking for yourself.  You’ll be amazed at how much better you feel physically and mentally after cooking for yourself for a while.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

