Drink your veggies!

Posted on April 1, 2016. Filed under: Breakfast, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

When I got back from vacation, I was a little mad I’d gained a few pounds. We moved around as much as I always did, but my eating habits weren’t the same, and I could tell the difference. I knew I had to eat a lot more veggies. I also came home to a fridge with just spinach and some juices and no time for grocery shopping (since I’m a psycho and went right back to work).

So, pretty much every day since I got back, I’ve had a spinach and banana smoothie to start out the day. I know, I know, it sounds gross. But, here’s the great thing about raw spinach; it has almost no flavor when it’s blended.

I tried to make this smoothie as nutritionally balanced as possible. It only takes a few minutes to make, but it will give you the boost of energy you need to get through a workout or your morning. Warning though: this is also SUPER full of fiber. If your diet isn’t full of fiber, be careful. (I also didn’t measure anything, so…sorry)

Spinach and Banana Smoothie

Here’s what to get from the store:

Banana
Spinach
Kale
Flax Seeds
Chia Seeds
Plain Greek Yogurt
Fortified OJ
Cashew Milk

Banana and Spinach Smoothie

1 banana
Chia and Flax Seeds
Few tbsp Plain Greek Yogurt
Equal Parts OJ and Cashew Milk
Handfuls Spinach and Kale

  1. Throw everything into a blender and blend until smooth. Add more spinach if you like.

I’ve come to really look forward to my daily yoga. It’s the one thing that slows me down. If you know me, you know I’m always moving quickly. Thanks to the breathing and having to focus, I actually am forced to slow down, it’s actually really nice.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

