Spicy Squash

Posted on April 1, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

When I was getting ready to go home after spending time with my parents on Easter, mom noticed she forgot to give my sister a spaghetti squash, so I took it home. Along with another bag of broccoli…I think there’s only 2 left in the freezer from last season. (I gave my dad purple broccoli seeds for Christmas, so I’m hoping for a rainbow.)

I’d seen recipes for the squash many times before, but I had never thought about eating it. Not sure why, just never appealed to me. Now, since I had a whole one, I decided to make something. I learned very quickly that either I need a new knife, or that squash is just REALLY hard to open. I ended up hacking off the top and sticking my knife in that part and hitting the squash against my cutting board until the knife went through.

This recipe is easy (besides getting the squash open) but the squash does take a long time to cook. It’s on the harder side of the squashes so baking time is almost an hour. Luckily though, after it’s cooked, everything goes by very quickly. This is a very healthy recipe and is also vegan, so eat away!

Chili Spiced Spaghetti Squash with Asparagus, Broccoli and Spinach

Here’s what to get from the store:

Spaghetti Squash
Asparagus
Broccoli
Orange Bell Pepper
Garlic Chili Sauce
Fresh Spinach

Chili Spiced Spaghetti Squash with Veggies

1 Spaghetti Squash, halved and seeded
Olive Oil
Salt, Pepper, Paprika, Tumeric, Garam Masala
5-6 stalks asparagus, diced
Few florets fresh broccoli, diced
1/4 orange bell pepper, cubed
2 cloves garlic, diced
1/4 cup diced red onion
Hand full of spinach
Garlic Chili Sauce
Black Beans

  1. Drizzle the squash with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 45 minutes. About half way through, add paprika, tumeric and the garam masala. Once the squash is fork soft, pull from the oven and let cool.
  2. While the squash is cooling, saute the onions until fragrant. Add the garlic and bell pepper and cook till soft.Make sure to season with salt, pepper and tumeric.  Add the asparagus and broccoli and saute until bright green. Add some garlic chili sauce and let simmer. (Be careful not to add too much, this sauce is spicy!)
  3. The squash should be cool enough to touch, run a fork through the squash to get the cooked meat from the shell. Add that to the veggies,along with the spinach and stir. Let the spinach wilt. Taste to adjust seasonings, then serve topped with black beans.

Today I start my training at Pizzeria Uno in the city. This is the first job that I’ve been hired as a bartender from the start. I still have to prove myself to everyone else, but I know I can. This is the first step to moving and I’m very excited. I will be sad to leave the wing place; I only have 3 shifts left there, but it is time to move on. The friends I made there will always still be there.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

