I’m out of corny jokes

Posted on April 14, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

Or I just can’t think of any for this for some reason.

I don’t know what it is about showers, but they can be very inspiring. Sunday before work while I was taking a shower, I thought “Polenta” I’m not sure if I’ve ever had it, and I’ve never made it, but it can’t be that hard, right? Right, it’s actually super easy.

Surprisingly, it’s also vegan if you don’t use cheese. It’s not the most healthy thing on the face of the planet, but you just have to watch your portion size. It is also pretty light in flavor, which lends itself very well to other flavors.

This whole recipe is very easy, I’m not going to include the sauteed broccoli and tomatoes, just the polenta and the sauce. The polenta does take some time, about 45 minutes, but that’s about it.

Polenta topped with broccoli, tomatoes and a Blackberry Balsamic Mushroom sauce. (And a broken Poached Egg)

Here’s what to get from the store:

Cornmeal
Shredded Cheese (Optional)
Blackberry Wine
Balsamic Vinegar
Button Mushrooms
Red Onion

Polenta

5 cups water
1 cup cornmeal
Salt, pepper
Shredded Cheese (Optional)

  1. Place the water with a teaspoon of salt in a large pot on the stove. Add the cornmeal and stir. Bring the mixture to a boil, making sure to stir. Once the mixture has thickened, lower the heat and let cook. Make sure to stir every once in a while. The grains will be swollen and taste like corn.

Blackberry Balsamic Mushroom Sauce

3 button mushrooms, diced
3 cloves garlic, diced
1/4 red onion, diced
1 cup blackberry wine
1 cup balsamic vinegar
Salt, black and red pepper, paprika, ground mustard

  1. Saute the onions with salt and pepper until fragrant. Add the mushrooms and garlic, saute until the garlic is cooked.
  2. Deglaze the pan with the wine and bring to a rolling boil. Add the vinegar and spices, and let reduce by about half. Taste to adjust seasonings. Serve over the polenta with sauteed broccoli and tomatoes.

My last day at the wing place was a little bitter sweet. While I had been there for 6 years, most of the crew was no longer the same, they didn’t feel like the family I had first gotten to know there. I know that I had been drifting from them for a while; just as they had been drifting from themselves, but the money was so addicting. I’m glad to finally be able to move on to better things. My move is becoming more real and I am so excited. Now all I need is for apartments with July availability to start showing up.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

