Gra-no you didn’t (Pt2?)

Posted on April 19, 2016. Filed under: Breakfast, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Was there a part one? I can’t remember.

This past weekend was the first of my crazy weekends that I’ll be having until I move. I ran a show Friday, had to be at work at 8:30 for a cooking class thing, worked till 5, ended up out with my friends, then pulled a double yesterday. I stayed in the city on Friday, and I didn’t want (or really couldn’t) bring up a salad the next day, and I wanted to have some sort of healthy snack that didn’t need to be kept in the fridge.

A few weeks ago I had some bananas that were getting a little far along, and thought about making granola bars with them. I found a very simple and good for you recipe and finally had time to bake them on Friday before my trip up to the city.

This recipe is very easy, and, as long as you have the correct measurements you can switch out a lot of the ingredients.

IMG_20160418_124349.jpg

Here’s what to get from the store:

Quiona
Chia
Oatmeal
Almond Butter
Nuts (I used almonds and cashews)
Dried Fruit (I did dates and golden raisins)

Chia, Quiona and Banana Granola Bars
(From Ambitious Kitchen)

1 cup gluten free rolled oats
1/2 cup uncooked pre-rinsed quinoa
2 tablespoons chia seeds
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 ripe bananas, mashed (about 3/4 cup)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup roughly chopped almonds
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/3 cup dried fruit (raisins or cranberries work well)
1/4 cup natural creamy almond butter
2 tablespoons honey or pure maple syrup

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8×8 inch baking pan with parchment paper to prevent bars from sticking.
  2. In a large bowl, combine oats, uncooked quinoa, chia seeds, salt and cinnamon. Stir in mashed banana and vanilla. Fold in almonds, pecans (or walnuts) and dried fruit.
  3. Place a small saucepan over low heat; add in almond butter and honey (or maple syrup) and stir until warm and almond butter is melted. Fold into granola bar mixture until well combined. Pour into prepared pan and press down firmly with hands or with a measuring cup to help bars stay intact. Bake for 25 minutes or until edges turn golden brown. Allow to cool completely before cutting into 10 bars.

I really like working at the new place. Everyone there has been great. I had been told the bartenders are a little standoffish at the beginning, but all the ones I’ve worked with seem to like me right away. It’s great working somewhere that feels like a family again.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

