Gal-etting on the Ritz

Posted on April 23, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

I don’t know if that actually works, but I’m rolling with it.

Today was my day off, and I had a lot of stuff to do. I got all of it done except for going through my closets and other belongings to donate before I move.

I wanted to make something cool with some colors since spring is finally here (except for the 45 degree weather today, but WHATEVER MOTHER NATURE). I setteled on a savory galette. A galette is basically a pie or a tart that just doesn’t have a pan. It’s more on the rustic side, but that’s part of the charm.

I really didn’t know what I wanted to put in the galette until I got to the grocery store. There was a lot of yellow squash and some beautiful green tomatoes, so I decided that was my filling. This morning I decided to add garlic infused olive oil and spinach to the mix (because when do I not put spinach in things?)

Despite the fact that pastry doughs and I have fought in the past, this dough is very easy to put together. The trick is to have cold butter, ice cold water, and to actually let it rest for about a half hour in the fridge (I normally don’t have the patience to do that, but, I cleaned the vacuum while I was waiting). All in all, it does take a little time to make this, I think it was about 2 hours when I finished, but it’s worth it. The dough is flaky and delicious, and the filling is perfectly tasty.

This isn’t vegan by any means, but you can leave off the goat cheese and egg if you choose. If you have a butter alternative that works well for you, then the crust can be vegan.

Yellow Squash, Tomato, Spinach Galette with Egg and Goat Cheese

Here’s what to get from the store:

Butter
Yellow Squash
Green Tomato
Shallot
Garlic
Spinach
Olive Oil
Egg
Goat Cheese

Yellow Squash, Green Tomato and Spinach Galette with Egg and Goat Cheese

For the dough

1 cup flour
3/8 tsp salt (pinch)
1/2 tsp black pepper
3 oz cold butter
1/4 cup ice cold water

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, salt and the pepper.
  2. Cut in the butter, using your fingers or a pastry cutter, until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal — work very quickly so that the butter does not become too warm.
  3. Add the ice water and press the dough gently until it JUST comes together — DO NOT overmix–it’s okay if there appears to be unmoistened flour.
  4. Spread a sheet of plastic wrap over a flat surface and turn the dough out onto it.
  5. Grip the ends of the plastic wrap and pull them together, towards the center, so that the wrap presses the dough together.
  6. Wrap the dough into a ball and refrigerate it for at least 30 minute (At this point, the dough can be wrapped a second time and stored in the freezer for up to 3 months.
  7. To make the pastry, cut the dough into 2 or 8 equal pieces, depending on whether you will make large or individual galettes.
  8. Set the dough on a floured work surface and use the palm of your hand to pat it flat.
  9. Using a rolling pin, roll the dough into a circle about 1/8-inch thick. Large galettes should be about 14 inches in diameter – small galettes should be about 6-8 inches in diameter.
  10. Set the dough on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper and keep chilled until ready to fill. (The dough can also be frozen after it has been rolled; be sure to wrap it tightly.).
  11. Fill with whatever your heart desires and bake in a 400ºF oven for about 35-40 min, depending on what you fill it with. The pastry should be nice and golden brown.

Garlic and Shallot Infused Oil

1/4 cup olive oil
4 cloves garlic, diced
1/2 shallot, diced

  1. Place the oil in a saucepan and heat on low heat. Add the garlic and shallots and bring to a simmer. Cook until translucent, stir to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Building the Galette

1 recipe galette dough
Garlic and Shallot infused oil
1 yellow squash sliced
Handful Spinach
3 slices green tomato
1 egg
Goat Cheese
Salt and pepper

  1. Form the galette on a baking sheet, it should be round with the edges folded up. Brush the olive oil on the dough. Add the slices of squash, salt and pepper, a layer of spinach, then the tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle more of the oil on top. Bake in the 400 degree oven for 2o minutes.
  2. After 20 minutes, pull the galette out and crack an egg over the galette. Add chunks of goat cheese and bake for another 10 minutes until the egg is set.

Last week I accidentally lost 4 pounds. If you’re at a healthy weight like I am, losing that much in a week isn’t actually the best. While I was totally ok with the weight, how it happened wasn’t the most healthy. Anything over 2 pounds in a week (unless you’re severely overweight) isn’t healthy. It’s just not. I’m trying to make sure that doesn’t happen again on my long doubles at Unos, if I’m skinny it’s because I’m doing it the right way. It’s better to be healthy than anything else.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

