Sweetly Spicy

Posted on May 7, 2016. Filed under: Side Dishes, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

This week has been a little rough. Monday at work I was eating some soft pretzels and a piece of the salt aggravated a tooth I’ve been ignoring. I woke up in a lot of pain (if you call when I got sleep) and my face was starting to swell. I called a dentist but they couldn’t get me in until today. They suggested I go to the Dr or the ER. I chose the ER because the Dr I’ve been to here in town kind of blows (they misdiagnosed my mono a few years ago). $500 later armed with penicillin and strong pain killers, they sent me on my way. I went into work for a few hours, all the while my face getting bigger (I looked the like elephant man.) Luckily a coworker came in to finish out the shift. Thankfully the swelling has gone down quite a bit, and I have a plan for the dentist. I have a deep cleaning, root canal, a crown and wisdom tooth extraction (they aren’t bothering me, but the dentist said they can cause the same problems I’m having now so…out they go!) I wasn’t sure how good my dental insurance is, and luckily, it’s not bad. It’s going to cover about half of the work, which I find awesome.

Needless to say, solid food has been kind of a no go this week. I tried some of the apps at Blue Pointe’s grand opening (fabulous, go eat there!) and my mouth couldn’t open to wide. Last night I tried a falafal wrap when I took mom out for Mother’s day. I thought that would be fine, but the pain started again when I got home and I had to go to the strong stuff.

Wednesday night I made pureed black beans, carrots and avocado (baby food, essentially). I didn’t post about it because, well, it looked like turds. I wanted to make something yummy today, and for some reason, the jicima at the grocery store was staring back at me.

Jicima is a South American root vegetable with consistency of a potato. The difference between jicima and potatoes is that you can actually eat jicima raw. I didn’t do that, I added it to sweet potatoes and a habanero to make a sweet and spicy mash.

This recipe is easy, but it does take time to cook the starches down. I was really surprised that the jicima took longer to cook than the sweet potato. The habanero adds a nice spice to it, but BE CAREFUL. It’s a very spicy pepper, so you really don’t need more than 1. And, make sure to wash your hands after you handle it. (Ever get jalapeno juice in your eye? Yea, this is worse) Really, this would normally be a side dish, but considering chewing is still hard for me, it was the main course.

Sweet and Spicy Jicma and Sweet Potato Mash with Black Beans and Gorgonzola

Here’s what to get from the store:

Small jicima
Small sweet potato
Habanero Pepper
Gorgonzola
Greek Yogurt
Lemon Juice

Sweet and Spicy Jicima and Sweet Potato Mash

1 small jicima, peeled and diced
1 small sweet potato, diced
1 Habanero
1/4 cup Greek Yogurt
2 cloves Garlic
Splash of lemon juice
Salt, Pepper, Tumeric, Paprika
Black Beans

  1. Add the jicima and sweet potato to a pot of salted boiling water. Cook until fork tender, about 45 minutes.
  2. While the starches are cooking, char the habanero on the burner. Cool, then de seed and dice. (Wash.Your.Hands)
  3. Drain the starches and add them to your food processor along with the pepper, Greek Yogurt, lemon juice and spices. Blend until smooth. Taste to adjust seasonings, then add the cheese. Serve topped with black beans and more cheese.

After having to skip my yoga for 2 days due to pain, I decided I had to on Wednesday. It was a great decision. It’s amazing how much endorphin can lift someone’s mood. I can be exhausted and go through my practice and feel so great afterwards.

I’m really excited it’s getting warm out so I can show off more of my awesome new muscles.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Sweetly Spicy”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] took the spicy sweet potato mash that I made to work the other day, completely forgetting that the habanero marinated and it became […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    May 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

