Toothless

Posted on June 2, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Last week was rough. I worked 4 shifts at each job AND had the last 3 of my wisdom teeth pulled. Needless to say, I didn’t have time to cook before the extraction and I couldn’t eat real food for a few days after. (Ok, I tried rice, tofu and veggies on Saturday, tofu and rice were easy, veggies not so much. Oh, and I had cheesecake, cause it’s soft).

So, clearly I’ve been itching to cook something. I had been thinking about a quiona pizza crust for a while. I had originally wanted to top it with graffiti eggplant, but it went bad before I could use it. So instead I took the last of my parents broccoli, made a sauce of that, and topped it with mushrooms and bell pepper. I was really pleased with the result. (I made it for tomorrow, but I had to test it tonight, duh)

This recipe is actually very easy, there is some downtime but it doesn’t really effect you at all. Everything in this recipe is very good for you, and full of fiber. It should fill you up for a decent amount of time.

Quiona Pizza Crust topped with Coconut Curried Broccoli Sauce, Bell Pepper, Mushroom, Goat and Feta Cheese

Here’s what to get from the store:

Quiona
Baking Powder
Broccoli
Bell Pepper
Button Mushrooms
Garam Masala
Coconut Milk

Quiona Pizza Crust
(From Cooking Light)

3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1/4 cup water, plus more for soaking quinoa
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
  1. Cover the quiona in water and soak for at least 6 hours.
  2. Drain the quiona and add 1/4 cup water, the baking powder and salt to your food processor and process until smooth.
  3. Place into a greased round cake pan and cook at 425 for 15 minutes. Flip the crust over and cook for another 5-10 minutes. Top with desired toppings and bake until cheese is melted.

Coconut Curried Broccoli Sauce

1 cup cooked broccoli
1/2 can coconut milk
1/4 tsp Red Curry Paste
Salt, Pepper, Garam Masala, Tumeric, Cayenne Pepper

  1. Place everything in the blender and blend until smooth. Place on the pizza crust and top with bell pepper, sliced mushrooms, goat cheese and feta cheese.

Not only did I not have time to cook last week, I didn’t have time practice my yoga last week. I missed it quite a bit. I was finally able to start again yesterday and I am so glad. I felt my life was slightly miss balanced. Yoga brought me balance. Find a way to find your own balance.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    June 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

