I Benna you like this dish

Posted on September 2, 2016. Filed under: Uncategorized |

That’s a dumb title. I couldn’t think of any puns for this one. And I know I’m late on this post, I made this dish about 2 weeks ago, and I’ve been very unenthused about food. Weird, I know, I’m trying to fix it.

Anyway, since I’ve moved I haven’t had cable so I’ve been binge watching stuff on Netflix. One of the things I watched was the Worst Cooks in America. I know that show is partially scripted and that (I hope) there’s no way those people are that clueless in the kitchen, but who knows. One episode they learned how to make eggs Benedict. Out of all the breakfast foods, there are 2 things that are my favorite: hash browns with extra salt and eggs bennedict. It’s rich, it’s indulgent, and just plain delicious.

Now, the dish itself is really easy, it’s just a toasted English muffin, ham or some other protein, a poached egg, greens and Hollandaise sauce. It’s a really easy build, but I hadn’t made hollandaise sauce before, so why not? It’s actually a really easy thing to make, as long as you make sure the heat isn’t too high, you’re fine. I actually had to restart my batch because I had the heat too high and I scrambled the yolks. Second batch was perfect.

You’re going to notice this sauce is not healthy, it’s full of butter. But, I believe that food habits need to have balance, eat the healthy food, but you can eat the bad food too, just don’t eat to much. I’m only going to do the recipe for the actual sauce, because the rest of the dish is very easy. I substituted a grilled portobello cap for the ham, (and I forgot the spinach) but it was a very good dish.

IMG_20160824_202410

Here’s what you need from the store:

Eggs
Lemon Juice
Unsalted Butter

Hollandaise Sauce
(From Tyler Florence)

4 egg yolks
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted (1 stick)
Pinch cayenne
Pinch salt
  1. Vigorously whisk the egg yolks and lemon juice together in a stainless steel bowl and until the mixture is thickened and doubled in volume.
  2. Place the bowl over a saucepan containing barely simmering water (or use a double boiler,) the water should not touch the bottom of the bowl. Continue to whisk rapidly. Be careful not to let the eggs get too hot or they will scramble.
  3. Slowly drizzle in the melted butter and continue to whisk until the sauce is thickened and doubled in volume.
  4. Remove from heat, whisk in cayenne and salt. Cover and place in a warm spot until ready to use for the eggs benedict. If the sauce gets too thick, whisk in a few drops of warm water before serving.

I don’t know why I haven’t been very inspired with food recently, nothing has changed in my life where I wouldn’t want to cook, I still want to cook and eat, but most of the time I have no idea what to make. I’ve gone back to eating my salad almost every day and I’m glad, because I was getting a little lethargic and  I knew it was because I hadn’t been getting all my veggies. I’m hoping to be struck by inspiration soon, I need to make something cool and get back on posting for all of you every week.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    September 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

