Is that corn?

Posted on September 6, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

One day at work, one of my coworkers came up to me and said “Hey, call David over here and ask him, is this corn?” Ever since then, we’ve been throwing bad corn puns back and forth at each other. They’re awful and I love it.

Because of that, I’ve been thinking about corn recipes recently. Ok, I actually had a cold or something over the weekend and I wanted a squash soup, but it’s only about 1000 degrees outside so soup was a no go. I was trying to figure out what I wanted to make while walking around Aldi and saw some great zucchini right next to some corn cobs and decided to do a warm salad. I really just wanted something simple, I was starving after my excersice and that seemed like the easiest and healthiest thing to make.

This recipe is very easy, and it’s 100% vegan. It barely takes any time at all and it will fill you up.

Roasted Veggie Salad with Quiona and Kale

Here’s what to get from the store:

Zucchini
Corn on the cob
Broccoli
Asparagus
Quiona
Black Beans
Tomato
Kale

Roasted Veggie and Quiona Salad

1 zucchini, sliced
1 cob of corn, with the corn taken off
5 florets of fresh broccoli6-10 pieces of asparagus, depending on size, diced
2 cloves garlic, smashed
1 cup cooked quiona
1 Roma tomato, diced
1/2 cup diced kale
Salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika

  1. On a cookie sheet with sides or a 9 x 10 pan, place the zucchini, corn (an easy way to cut it off the cob is to place an upside down bowl in another bowl and cut down the sides), broccoli, asparagus and broccoli. Cover it all in a drizzle of olive oil and season with salt, pepper, cayenne and paprika. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes, stirring about half way through.
  2. When the veggies are done roasting, place them in a saute pan with the quinoa and black beans. Saute with more seasoning until the beans are warm. Remove from heat and add the kale to wilt it. Serve topped with a diced Roma tomato.

I’ve been here for a little over a month, and I haven’t really hung out with as many people as I thought I was going to. So I’ve been spending a lot more time at home than I thought. It’s not ideal, but I’m dealing with it. Making friends when you’re an adult is hard.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    September 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

