Soupy!

Posted on September 27, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I can’t come up with puns right now, no idea why.

My posting has become a little erratic and I apologize for that. I’ve decided I don’t want to post the recipe the same day I make it, but then what happens is that I forget to post for over a week. I’m going to have to go back to posting the day I make the food.

Last time I talked about wanting to make soup but it was still a little to warm for that. Fall is officially here, and it’s started to cool down. (Granted, when I made this, it was still a little on the warm side). I had some sort of squash soup running around my head, and when I went to Aldi they finally had squash, and I settled on butternut. Who doesn’t like butternut squash? It’s delicious.

I wanted to make something creamy and vegan, which is actually really easy in soup if you do it right. Butternut squash adds a creamy element to any dish and the flavor can be amped up if you use a little bit of coconut milk. This recipe was exactly that, it was easy to make, very creamy, had great flavor and was vegan. My only issue is that I had made too much, didn’t have anyone to share it with and couldn’t fit it in my fridge. So I ended up having to waste it, which was depressing, it was awesome.

Sweet and Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

Here’s what to get from the store:

Butternut Squash
Sweet Potato
Jalapenos
Vegetable Broth
Sweet Vadalia Onion
Coconut Milk

Sweet and Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

1 butternut squash, halved
2 sweet potatoes, cubed
2 jalepenos
5 cloves garlic, smashed
1 onion, diced
32 oz vegetable broth
1 cup coconut milk
Salt, pepper, paprika, sriracha, tumeric, garam masala, fresh basil

  1. Cover the squash and potatoes in olive oil, salt, pepper and paprika. Roast in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes or until soft. Let cool slightly and scrape the squash out of it’s peel.
  2. While the squash and potato are in the oven, scorch the outside of the jalapenos with your stove. Let cool then peel and chop them.
  3. In a large pot, saute the onion and garlic until fragrant. Add the peppers then the vegetable broth, squash and potato. Stir while smashing down the lumps.
  4. Using an emersion blender or a normal blender, blend the soup until smooth. Season and taste. Let simmer for a bit before adding the coconut milk. Taste to adjust seasonings. Serve topped with fresh basil and crusty bread.

I had to skip yoga about 4 days the past week. I’m really glad that now I’m in shape it isn’t a huge thing if I do have to skip. Sure, I gained  a few pounds, but then again, people go up and down about 5 pounds a week, so it’s not that big of a deal either. I still feel strong, and that’s amazing.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Soupy!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

Great recipe! You can really see the rich roasted color in the finished soup. Looks delicious 🙂

Great looking soup. What kind of crusty bread is that?

Thanks! That’s a whole wheat no knead bread.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    September 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

