What do you eat, anyway?

Posted on September 29, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , |

I talk about food at work a lot. It’s an easy thing to talk about and it really gets quiet customers talking. (And I get tired of talking about the weather all the time). I was telling someone about vegan food and he said “what is a vegan meal anyway?” It can be a  valid question, while I do know a lot of people who eat vegan and vegetarian, a wide part of the population doesn’t and I’m sure they don’t realize how good vegan food can be. On top of that, it’s really easy to make.

The weather finally turned and it’s been raining all day today. I walked down to a liquor store and Walgreens and had to giggle to myself. I had on sweatshirt with my hood up, and I passed a few people wearing winter coats.  I sometimes forget that not everyone in the city grew up here. I also forget that while I’m cold right now, some people are WAY colder.

Cold means soup, at least for me. The last time mom and dad came up they brought me some frozen green beans and heirloom tomatoes from their garden. I’m sad I didn’t get any fresh ones (work and moving kind of put a damper on that) but that meant I had to come up with up with something to make with frozen veggies. Soup seemed the best route, specially since the frozen heirlooms have extra water in them to help make a broth.

This recipe is super easy, it does take some time because I used raw chickpeas instead of canned (you can use canned, Aldi didn’t have them the last time I went) and the tomatoes do need to stew down a little bit. Not only is it easy, it’s also vegan and 100% good for you.

img_20160928_181629

Here’s what to get from the store (if you don’t have fresh veggies)

6 heirloom tomatoes
Chickpeas
Green beans
Carrots
Onion
Asparagus
Corn

Vegetable Soup

6 Heirloom tomatoes, cooked and peeled in their water
1 cup uncooked chickpeas (or 1 can)
2 carrots, chopped
1 onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, diced
2 cobs of corn, corn cut off
1 cup green beans
1 cup asparagus, diced
4 cups water
Salt, pepper, paprika, basil, oregano, red pepper flake

  1. If you already have stewed tomatoes, you can skip this step. If you don’t, quarter the tomatoes, boil them until soft, them remove the skin and set aside.
  2. If you have raw chickpeas, soak a cup of them over night .
  3. In a large saucepan, sweat the onion, carrots and garlic. Once they are translucent, add the tomatoes and their extra water. Stir, season, and squish the tomatoes. Bring to a boil and add the uncooked chickpeas. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes or until the fluid is reduced by half. Add the water, season again and let cook until the chickpeas are cooked.
  4. Add the asparagus, corn, and beans. Simmer until the vegetables are cooked. Serve topped with fresh basil.

I’m glad I’ve found yoga, it’s helped me stay focused, and even in a better mood when the weather gets crappy. I’m going to try to not tan this winter, it was my crutch last winter thanks to the warmth. We’ll see how long it lasts.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    September 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

