Shame on me!

Posted on November 7, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , |

Guys, I’ve been a bad blogger. I made a dish probably about two weeks ago and haven’t posted about it yet. Shame on me.

As I’m sure you can tell, I’ve been on a vegan kick. While my diet is omnivore, I don’t generally buy meat and most of the time end up eating vegetarian and vegan foods. I know I’ve talked about this before and you’re probably getting a little tired of it.

It’s officially November and that means Thanksgiving, cold weather, and comfort food. Well… scratch the cold weather part. It’s 71 and sunny today. And I have to work. Of course. (I’d rather be reading by the lake). But, a few weeks ago we did have our normal dip and it did get down to the mid 40s/low 50s. I had been racking my brain on what to make for the week, and kept coming up empty. But then I remembered I had some rice noodles and a large box of coconut milk, and thought of a curry soup. (Yes, I know my last few posts were about curry, it’s good). I also had some asparagus and other veggies, and a soup was born.

I love soups, most of the time I prefer really creamy soups, but the right broth can make any soup delicious. On top of that, soups are actually very easy because making them involves flavor development, down time, and you can throw anything you have into the pot. They can be as healthy or unhealthy as you like, as carnivorous or vegan as you like.

This soup is very easy. Since there’s no meat, cooking time is cut down, but not too much because flavor development is important.

Cumin Spiced Coconut Curry Soup

Most of the things I had laying around, but if you don’t, here’s what to get from the store:

Boxed coconut milk (32 oz)
Asparagus
Baby bella mushrooms
Mini sweet peppers
Carrots
Fresh Basil
Rice Noodles
Seasame seeds
Garlic
Miso paste

Cumin Spiced Coconut Curry Soup

5 cloves garlic, diced
5 baby bella mushrooms, sliced
Handful of asparagus diced
3 mini peppers, diced and deseeded
2 carrots, diced
1 tbsp. sesame seeds
32 oz coconut milk
1 serving rice noodles, soaked in hot water
2 tbsp. miso paste
Salt, pepper, turmeric , cumin, sriracha, lemon juice, fresh basil

  1. Sauté the garlic until fragrant. Add asparagus, carrots,  mushrooms and peppers, cooking until asparagus is bright green Make sure to season with salt, pepper, turmeric and cumin at each addition.
  2. Add the sesame seeds to toast.
  3. Add the miso paste to coat, then the coconut milk.
  4. Bring to a simmer, add sriracha and lemon juice; taste to adjust seasoning.
  5. Lower the tempter and let cook for about 10-15 minutes. Taste one more time.
  6. In a large bowl, place the soaked rice noodles and top with the broth and fresh diced basil

The closer real winter gets the more I’m fearing it; this has been very mild fall and that means January and February are not going to be fun. Being a Midwestern girl I’m completely used to the cold weather, but my recent weight loss over the past 4-5 years has made me extra susceptible to cold. Even though my metabolism is higher, there is not as much padding as there used to be. Expect me to be making a lot more warming things over the next few months.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

