You Batter Believe it

Posted on December 13, 2016. Filed under: Deserts, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I’m back!

…I didn’t go anywhere, just uninspired recently (even after watching Chopped for some reason. ) I did make something for Thanksgiving, but it wasn’t that big of a hit and I forgot to take a picture, so I decided to skip that post.

I’ve been dating a really sweet guy named Rocky, we met in late October. He and I are very different in how we eat, I’m mostly vegetarian but will indulge when I want, he is very high protein and very regulated; almost never eats sweets. While he doesn’t eat sweets often, he will eat them. He had told me a few times that is favorite ice cream was cake batter, and had asked me when I was going to bake him something. I asked him what his favorite baked good was and he said cheesecake. I figured, there has to be a cake batter cheesecake out there, and I was right. The recipe I used didn’t have a crust, so I added that, and I cut the recipe in 1/3 so I could use my mini spring form pans.

I really wish I had filmed his reaction when he had his first bite because it was awesome. Out of all the food I’ve ever made for someone else, he had the best reaction. He’s requesting I call the cheesecake “Insanity” and so I shall.

This recipe is actually pretty easy for a baked cheesecake. My only issue is that I should have split it up into 3 pans instead of 2 because it ended up going over the edge, then falling. The flavor is pretty awesome though (and I’m not the biggest fan of cake batter myself).

Insanity Cheesecake

Here’s what to get from the store:

Cream cheese
Sweetened condensed milk
Vanilla wafers
Butter
Sprinkles
Almond Extract
Vanilla Extract

Insanity
(Cake Batter Cheesecake)
(Based off Wine and Glue)

For the Crust:

1/2 a box of Vanilla Wafers
4 tbsp melted butter

For the cake

1 8 oz block of cream cheese, at room temperature
1 egg at room temperature
Slightly over 9 tbsp sweetened condensed milk
3/4 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles

  1. In your food processor, crush the vanilla wafers until they are crumbs. Add the butter and mix until moist. Press in the bottom of mini spring form pans. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 5 minutes.
  2. With your mixer on low and with the paddle attachment, beat together the cream cheese until smooth. Then beat in the sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and almond extract. Finally, beat in the eggs. Continue mixing until you can no longer see the yolks and the eggs are fully incorporated. The batter may have a few lumps left at the end, but that’s okay.
  3. Slowly mix in all the sprinkles with a spoon.
  4. Pour the batter into your prepared pans  and bake for 40 minutes. Turn the oven off and let the cheesecake sit for an additional half hour.
  5. Remove from the oven and at least four hours in the refrigerator.

This is probably the least healthy thing I’ve made in a while, but that’s ok, life is about balance. I’ll also be writing about the soup I made last night that I healthy in a later post this afternoon.

This is my first winter in Chicago. It’s not much different than Valpo, except I don’t have to drive, and they’re way better at clearing the streets if I do. I’ve been a bit depressed, but that was the lack of sun. The past few days we’ve had sun and I’ve been doing a lot better. Rocky also gave me some vitamin D, and I bought myself a therapy light, so fingers crossed that it doesn’t last long this year.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

