Tundra Season is Back

Posted on December 14, 2016. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I’ve lived in the midwest for 31 years. That’s my whole life. So, needless to say, I’m used to the cold. But, that doesn’t mean I have to enjoy it; cause I really don’t. Ever since I started eating better and lost weight, I’ve been more sensitive to the cold than in the past.

At the end of last week it dropped down to the 20s and finally snowed. My toes go numb, I need to wear 2 pairs of socks, and attempt to wear 2 pairs of pants (I really wish I had some pants from when I as bigger so leggings would fit better underneath). Most of last week I ate a lot of salads, mainly because I couldn’t think of anything else to cook. But, during my yoga yesterday, I remembered I had some of my parents’ frozen heirloom tomatoes. So, why not make soup? After that decision, my friend Kati said she needed a study break, and we decided we had to make grilled cheese with the tomato soup.

This soup is very easy, vegan, and completly good for you. Besides the tomatoes, there’s black beans, carrots and mushrooms. It is a little chunky in texture, but it is tasty, a little spicy and very warming.

Tomato Veggie Soup

Here’s what to get from the store: (If you don’t have frozen tomatoes)

Stewed canned tomatoes
Tomato sauce
Carrots
Baby Bella Mushrooms
Shallots
Vegetable Broth
Black Beans

Tomato Veggie Soup

1 quart stewed tomatoes
16 oz can of tomato sauce
2 carrots, diced
8 cloves garlic, diced
2 shallots, diced
5 baby bella mushrooms, diced
1 16 oz can black beans
32 oz vegetable broth
Salt, black pepper, red pepper, cayenne, turmeric, paprika, basil, paprika
Balsamic vinegar and lemon juice.

  1. In a large stock pot or dutch oven, saute the shallots until translucent. Add the carrots and saute until bright orange. Add the mushrooms and garlic, saute until garlic is cooked through. Season with salt, pepper and other seasonings.
  2. Add the stewed tomatoes and sauce, bring to a boil. Add the black beans.
  3. Once the carrots are cooked through, use your immersion blender (or spoon it into a regular blender) and blend until almost smooth. Add the vegetable broth, stir and bring to a simmer. Taste to adjust seasonings, add the balsamic and lemon juice. Let simmer to bring the flavors together. Serve with some grilled cheese.

This Friday, the first show I did with Gorilla Tango is closing. It’s a bitter sweet moment because I do love that show, but it was getting a little tired and probably needed an update. I’ll be sad to see it go, for sure. This is also the last weekend of shows before the holidays. After that I’ll be jumping in to train 2 new SMs that can hopefully take over when I’m gone with my new show in April and May. Life is changing, and there’s nothing wrong with it, on to bigger and better things.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

