Holy Fiber Batman!

Posted on January 12, 2017. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Sorry everyone, I got really lazy after Christmas and just didn’t post. I’ve also only cooked one thing. Everything else has been dinners of crackers, cheese or my salad. This time of year messes me up, and for some reason, I’ve lost the desire to even cook anything new. I’m hoping it’ll change soon, something will pop up in my head.

The week after Christmas is pretty busy at work, so making something that would last a while was key. I worked quite a few 1-9 shifts so I also wanted something filling. I also didn’t want to have too much active time. It had been a while since I had used my crock pot, so why not? Crock pots are great because you can just throw everything in there and just leave.

When I was looking at vegetables to add to my dish, which I’ve called a chili/stew, I came up with sweet potatoes, zucchinis and a crazy amount of beans. I had a bag of my parents’ frozen broccoli and some of their frozen tomatoes, so why not add that? The result was tasty, filling and FULL of fiber. Like, lots of bloating. Lots and lots. Something cool that happened was the broccoli actually disintegrated into the broth, adding some extra body to the base of the stew.

This recipe is super easy. Prep is about 15 minutes, and as long as you stir every once in a while, you don’t have much else to do. In risk of sounding like the Barefoot Contessa, if you don’t have organic broccoli and tomatoes in your freezer, store bought is fine. Just make sure the broccoli is diced very small so it will melt into the broth, and just double the amount of canned tomatoes you used.

Vegan Chili/Stew with Zoodles

Here’s what to get from the store:

Canned diced tomatoes
Frozen broccoli
Carrots
Green Beans
Zucchini
Jalapeno
Mini Sweet Peppers
Shallots
Onion
Sweet potato
Kidney Beans
Chickpeas
Black Beans
Veggie Broth

Veggie Chili/Stew

32 oz canned diced tomatoes
1 qt frozen broccoli
2 sweet potatoes, diced
2 carrots, diced
1 Jalapeno, diced and deseeded
5 mini peppers, diced
1 cup green beans
1 shallot, diced
1 sweet vidalia onion, diced
6 cloves garlic, diced
32 oz veggie broth
1 can kidney beans
1 can chickpeas
1 can black beans
Salt, pepper, turmeric, cayenne, paprika
1/4 zucchini per bowl

  1. In the order of the listed ingredients (save half of the can of tomatoes) layer everything but the beans in your crock pot. Pour the broth and the rest of the tomatoes over top after seasoning. Turn the crock pot on low, cook for 5 hours, stiring on occasion.
  2. When the sweet potatoes are almost cooked through, add the beans and cook for 30 minutes more.
  3. Using your spirilizer, make some zoodles and place them in the bottom of each serving bowl. Pour the chili/stew on top.

Rocky and I are no longer seeing each other. I’m sad and I’m still trying to process it a little. It’s crazy how knowing someone for only three months can impact your life.

Instead, I’m trying to focus on myself again. I hadn’t been practicing my yoga as much as I should have and I know that was not only affecting my energy level, but my body image. This time of year is hard on a lot of us, and we need to focus on being mentally healthy, not just physically healthy.

I lost my little fitbit zip last week, and decided to take my saved money and bought one of the new Charge 2s. (And some new yoga pants…and wine and coffee…I went to Targer). It not only does the normal stuff, but it also keeps an eye on heat rate and sleeping patterns. I’ll be interested to see what my sleeping looks like.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

