Gimme a Pizza yo Mind

Posted on February 10, 2017. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I was originally going to write a post about the pickled red onions I made the other day, but my Domino’s app (don’t judge me, we all have that one awful food we have to have) told me yesterday was National Pizza Day. How could I pass up an opportunity to make pizza?

Kati and I normally hang out on Thursdays so I suggested pizza and said I was going to make it. I came up with a whole wheat crust (which turned into a beer whole wheat crust) with the pickled red onions, and Kati picked mushrooms. Both of us love cheese so there would be no less than 5 cheeses. vc bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbg4aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Above was Batman, he’s not a pizza guy, but Ghost doesn’t like typing. (Yes, crazy cat lady is in full effect this winter)

Now, let’s talk about the red onions that were the star of the pizza. I had been annoyed with Aldi because the only way to buy red onions was to buy them in a bag. I like putting red onions on my salad, but I don’t go through them that quickly to justify buying a bag of them. Last week my parents and I went to MSI for my mom’s birthday. For lunch I had a spinach a bleu cheese salad that had pickled red onions. And it hit me, duh, why not buy the bag of onions and pickle them? Humans have been pickling vegetables for a long time because we didn’t always have fridges or chemicals to keep food from going bad. I had finished 2 jars of my mom’s pickles, and figured why not clean them and use them again? The onions didn’t take long to make and I’ll have onions for my salads for a long time.

The pizza dough itself was pretty easy to make. It’s just the normal dough with some beer added in. I love using beer in baking because not only does it have it’s own yeast, it also adds an extra flavor that most breads don’t have. The recipe I used suggested a dark beer, but I added a wheat beer and I actually liked the flavor.

Whole Wheat Beer Pizza with Picked Red Onions, Mushrooms and 5 Cheeses

 

Here’s what to get from the store:

Whole wheat flour
Beer of your choice
Yeast
Red onion
Apple cider vinegar
Peppercorns
Mozzarella
Sharp cheddar
Asiago
Goat cheese
Parmesan

Whole Wheat Beer Pizza Dough
(From Veggie and the Beast)

2/3 cp room temp beer
2 1/4 tap active dry yeast
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp. Olive oil, divided
1 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 cp whole wheat flour (plus more for kneading)

  1. Whisk together the warm beer with the sugar and the yeast. Let sit for 5 minutes, until bubbly and foamy.
  2. Whisk in 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Pour in 1 1/2 cups flour and the salt. If you have a stand mixer with a knead hook, let it do its thing for 5 minutes. If you don’t, use a wooden spoon to incorporate the flour, then turn out onto a floured surface and knead for 5 minutes. This is the stage where you may need to add a few more tablespoons of flour. It will come together and be more elastic. You want the dough to bounce back when you poke it.
  3. Transfer the dough to a lightly-oiled bowl and flip it around so the oil coats it fully. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let it rise in a warm place for 2 hours.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a parchment-lined surface. Cover with a warm, damp towel and let rise for another 20 minutes. (I actually skipped this step, the crust ended up being crispy and we loved it)
  5. At this point you can refrigerate the dough if you’re not using it right away.
  6. Preheat oven to 400. If you have a pizza stone, put it in the oven while it preheats.
  7. Roll the dough into a 10-12 inch circle (depending on how thick you want the crust) Pinch the sides to form a slightly raised crust. Brush 1 tablespoon of oil on the top of the crust.
  8. When you’re ready to bake, add your favorite toppings, and then bake for 20-25 minutes.

Pickled Red Onions
(From the Kitchen)

1 medium red onion, about 5 ounces
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup rice vinegar, white wine vinegar, or apple cider vinegar

Flavorings (optional):
1 small clove of garlic, halved
5 black peppercorns
5 allspice berries
3 small springs of thyme
1 small dried chili

  1. Slice the onions: Start 2 or 3 cups of water on to boil in a kettle. Peel and thinly slice the onion into approximately 1/4-inch moons. Peel and cut the garlic clove in half.
  2. Dissolve the sugar and salt: In the container you will be using to store the onions, add the sugar, salt, vinegar, and flavorings. Stir to dissolve.
  3. Par-blanch the onions: Place the onions in the sieve and place the sieve in the sink. Slowly pour the boiling water over the onions and let them drain.
  4. Add the onions to the jar: Add the onions to the jar and stir gently to evenly distribute the flavorings.
  5. Store: The onions will be ready in about 30 minutes, but are better after a few hours. Store in the refrigerator. They will keep for several weeks, but are best in the first week.

My laptop is currently being fixed so I’m on my tablet. I actually like my tablet, but I do miss my laptop. I was hoping to get it back today, but come to discover I had ordered the wrong part, so I had to order the right one, I hope he’ll have it back to me next week.

I’m not sure what it is, at the beginning of the week I had so much motivation to go through my yoga practice, but yesterday and today I just don’t. I forced myself through it yesterday and I’m glad I did, but today I’m not sure if I’ll go through it. I still have a few hours before I have to be on the train to go to my show so hopefully I’ll get a little more motivated. I’m currently writing this in front of my therapy light with Batman lying in a weird position on my leg.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    February 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

