That’s a Hot Chick

Posted on March 14, 2017. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: |

So, normally, as I’m sure you all know, I do vegetarian and vegan dishes. However, a few weeks ago I was stumped and uninspired. So what does one do when that happens? Post on Facebook and ask for suggestions! I didn’t get many, but one was a healthier soul food option.

Now, originally this was supposed to be a baked fried chicken using milled flax seed, however, since I didn’t use egg in mixture, the breading didn’t stay on. It did however, keep the chicken moist. Because we all know the worst thing is dry poultry.

This recipe is pretty simple, and even though the breading fell off for me, I’m going to write it with the breading because it did help with the moisture. Surprisingly enough, it was also pretty cheap, thanks to Aldi prices.

My goal for this recipe is to make something that feels like a BBQ meal, without actually being too terrible for you. The sauce that I made is low in sugar (I used honey) and the flavor comes from spices. The warm salad served with it is very simple with no added butter.

Baked Chicken over a warm bean salad with sweet and spicy BBQ sauce

 

Here’s what to get from the store:

Boneless Chicken Breasts
Milled Flax Seed
Whole Wheat Flour
Almond Milk
Apple cider vinegar
Tomato Paste
Sriracha
Chickpeas
Black Beans
Mini Peppers
Asparagus

Baked “Fried” Chicken

Boneless Chicken Breast
Almond Milk
Equal parts milled flax seed and Wheat Flour
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Parsley, Oregano, Paprika

  1. Put the almond milk in one bowl, and the flours with the seasoning in another.
  2. Dip each breast in the milk, then the flour, twice each.
  3. In a preheated cast iron skillet, brown on each side, then put in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes or until cooked through.

Sweet and Spicy BBQ Sauce

3 cloves garlic, smashed
1/2 bottle of apple cider vinegar
1 can of tomato paste
1/4 cup honey
Sriracha
Soy sauce
Dijon Mustard
Salt, pepper, paprika, dried mustard, turmeric, cumin

  1. Sauté the garlic until cooked, add the vinegar and tomato. Stir until combined.
  2. Add the honey, mustard, soy sauce and some of the spices. Warm to almost boiling. Taste to adjust seasoning. Remove from heat until ready to use.

Warm Bean Salad

1/4 cup chickpeas
1/4 cup black beans
4 stalks asparagus, diced
4 mini sweet peppers, diced
3 cloves garlic, diced
Salt and pepper

  1. Sauté the garlic, then add the asparagus and peppers until the asparagus is bring green. Make sure to add salt and pepper.
  2. Add the beans, and only sauté until warmed through.

This was the first meat dish I’ve made in a long time, I don’t think I’ve even bought meat since I’ve moved. As I’ve said before, I’m not a vegetarian, not really, I just don’t eat a lot of meat. I do feel that we eat way too much meat, among other things. Balance is key, my friends.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “That’s a Hot Chick”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] with some seasoned brown rice (salt, pepper, and cilantro) and that BBQ sauce I made for that chicken last week. Super […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    March 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

