Don’t do this

Posted on April 4, 2017. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

The other day I was on Pinterest and I saw a pin that said “Lose weight without exercising!” Here’s the thing guys, if you’re really over weight, you will lose weight with cleanses like that, at first. The problem is, one of two things will happen: you’ll either gain all the weight back, or you’ll plateau. Reason being you haven’t actually learned how to eat better. The “diets” that actually work are ones that teach you how to eat better, and yes, even exercising.

The human body is actually pretty simple, you take in food, the food gives you energy, you expel the energy by doing things. Weight gain happens when you expel less energy than you take in. Pretty much everyone knows that, it’s not rocket science. The issue with a lot of people is that they just eat too much bad stuff. I really do believe this whole country likes to indulge a little bit too much. I’m down for indulging, but not all the time. No one needs to eat fast food/bread/red meat/dessert every day.

Learning to eat better is not easy. Cravings are a real problem for a lot of people, myself included. Currently I want pizza, a little. But instead I made this salad. (Ok that and I didn’t want to spend any money, being cheap is great for the diet.) The trick is to slowly start adding better foods for the bad ones in your diet. I’ve been eating like this for years, so it’s easy for me now. When I first started eating this way, if I wanted something salty or crunchy, I would make stove top popcorn. If I wanted something sweet, I would have dried fruit. The salad part actually came easy for me, I really like raw spinach, it just evolved over the years.

Today is the second day of my time of the month. I’m one of those women who isn’t really hungry during. In fact, I don’t really want any food (except the pizza, but I have a feeling I’d just look at it). I knew I had to eat something, so I cooked some quiona, then sauteed some mushrooms, black beans and chickpeas with garlic and red onions, then added it to a bowl of spinach with a few cut up strawberries. It’s filling and easy.

Spinach Salad with quinoa, mushrooms, black beans and chickpeas

My workout plan is going well (besides the fact I had NO energy today) but it’s weird to me that I’ve gained pounds, technically, but I dropped an inch of my waist. When it was just yoga, my muscles were a little more lean, and now they’re getting a little more bulky. That’s awesome, I love it, it’s just weird getting used to. I do love feeling my muscles firing as I walk around, it’s really cool.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

