You turn me right ’round

Posted on April 28, 2017. Filed under: Deserts, Uncategorized | Tags: |

Like a record baby…

Anywho. Let’s talk rhubarb. Last year for Christmas I got my dad a bunch of different seeds. The tomatoes grew great, the purple broccoli didn’t (disappointed) and the rhubarb is finally ready. I know what you’re thinking, it took over a year to grow? Yes, according to the research my mom did, you plant it one year, but you don’t get to harvest till next spring. Weirdly enough, the stalks are actually green instead of the normal red color I’ve seen.

They brought me a bunch this last Sunday, and I’ve been looking over Pinterest for recipes. I didn’t feel like going to the store to buy stuff (temperature dropped 30 degrees again…oh spring), so I had to find something that would only take what I have at home. That’s when I found this upside down cake. The only ingredient I didn’t have was nutmeg, so I used cinnamon instead. I also only had almond milk, but it seemed to work just as well as normal milk. This is a super easy recipe and is done in less than an hour. I have to say, it is super good. Sweet, but not terribly sweet and like every other upside down cake, it makes it’s own sauce.

Upside down Rhubarb Cake

Here’s what to get from the store:

Rhubarb
Sugar
Egg
Nutmeg or cinnamon
Butter
Milk

Upside Down Rhubarb Cake
(From Taste of Home)

TOPPING

3 cups sliced fresh or frozen rhubarb
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 cup butter, melted

BATTER

1/4 cup butter, melted
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup milk
Sweetened whipped cream, optional

  1. Place rhubarb in a greased 10-in. heavy oven-proof skillet. Combine sugar, flour and nutmeg; sprinkle over rhubarb. Drizzle with butter; set aside. For batter, in a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until blended. Beat in the egg. Combine the flour, baking powder, nutmeg and salt. Gradually add to egg mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.
  2. Spread over rhubarb mixture. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Loosen edges immediately and invert onto a serving dish. Serve warm. Serve with whipped cream if desired. Yield: 8-10 servings.

I still have a lot of rhubarb left and I’m still going to get a decent amount from my parents (mom doesn’t like rhubarb and dad isn’t allowed to have sugar) so I’m going to make a lot of cool stuff. My friend Kati has found some recipes for me, and I’m going to look for some savory ones too, just to spice things up.

The temperature dropped from 80 yesterday to 50 today. I’ve had a headache since last night, and I’m blaming the weather. My muscles are also sore, but that’s from exercising.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

