Archive for May 17th, 2017

Crunchy!

Posted on May 17, 2017. Filed under: Appitizers, Snacks, Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Let’s talk snacks. Pretty much all of my posts are either healthy meals or desserts. I never really write anything about snacks. Which is weird, because I LOVE snacks. Like a lot. Especially if they’re crunchy. Even better if you can dip them in something. My favorite? Tortilla chips and queso dip. Or Unos croutons in bleu cheese (judge me, but it’s sooo gooood).

But, when I cut out processed carbs (save a mocha with whipped cream, and yesterday’s rhubarb loaf, I haven’t had any) I had to figure out what to eat for a post show/work snack, or even a during work/show snack. I bought some flavored cashews and almonds, but I wanted more. Then I remembered, I had chickpeas. You know what chickpeas makes? Hummus.

Hummus is such an easy dip to make I’m almost embarrassed to say I had been buying it. But why buy it? It only has a few ingredients, and they’re all pretty easy to find. I say pretty easy because in Chicago, Tahini sauce is pretty common, thanks to the diverse population.

This recipe is very easy, as I said. You can serve it with pita chips, or as I’ve been doing some crunchy veggies.

Sriracha Lime Hummus

Here’s what to get from the store:

Chickpeas
Tahini Sauce
Garlic
Lime Juice
Sriracha

Sriracha Lime Hummus

1 can of chickpeas
1 tbsp tahini
3 cloves garlic, peeled
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp Sriracha
Salt, pepper, paprika

  1. Put everything  (including the liquid from the chickpeas) in your food processor and blend until it’s your desired consistency. Taste to adjust seasonings. Serve with your favorite veggies.

I’m very proud of myself. I generally have very good self control, except of course when it comes to my favorite snacks. That being said, I’ve now been grocery shopping twice and haven’t even looked at the chips. I did have a dream that I was eating Oreos, but I don’t really crave the bad stuff. Tonight some friends and I are going to Kuma’s Korner for burgers, that’s going to be interesting. Mainly because I haven’t had anything really fatty in a while. Last night I ate a lot of the loaf batter (because, you have to) and my stomach kind of hurt after. So we’ll see how my stomach will deal with cheese burgers.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

More Rhubarb!

Posted on May 17, 2017. Filed under: Breads, Uncategorized | Tags: |

Twice in one day, I know. Sometimes I get on a roll and have to keep going.

I still have more rhubarb at the apartment, and at my parents’ house, so I had to try more recipes, of course. I originally wanted to do a shortbread, but I didn’t have enough butter. I didn’t want to do pie because, well, that’s what everyone does. After a while on Pinterest, I found an old fashioned rhubarb loaf. I decided to use my mini loaf pans instead of a big pan, it was a good choice,

I had to substitute Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and almond milk for the regular milk, but it still came out really well. (Ok, I also only had baking soda, but I clearly did the math right because it fluffed out just fine). That being said, the worst part about making this is the dishes.

Mini Rhubarb Loaves

Here’s what to get from the store:

Rhubarb
Flour
Sugar
Eggs
Baking Soda
Baking Powder
Greek Yogurt
Almond Milk

Rhubarb Loaf
(From Noshing with the Nolands)

½ cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 cups flour
½ tsp. each baking powder, baking soda and salt
½ cup light sour cream (or Greek Yogurt)
¼ cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1½ cups rhubarb, diced small

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9x5x3″ loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt, set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a standup mixer cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time mixing well after each. Alternatively add the flour with the milk and sour cream, starting and finishing with the flour. Mix well. Fold in the rhubarb.
  4. Pour into the prepared loaf pan, smooth top and bake for 60-70 min. until a tester comes out clean. Let cool 10 min. and then remove from pan and cool further on a wire rack. Store in an air tight container for a few days if needed.

Like I said in my last post, I’m so glad the weather is getting better. I do so much better in the warmth.

 

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

Stack it

Posted on May 17, 2017. Filed under: Breakfast, Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

The 16th of every month is probably the most responsible day of the month for me. I go to the bank and pay all my bills.Granted, the past few weeks I’ve been overly responsible anyway. Makes for easy living, but slightly boring, for sure. Friends and I are going out tomorrow, it will be quite needed.

After hours of bill paying, cleaning, ect, I had to eat something. I haven’t gone to the grocery store yet, so I don’t have a ton of options, but I do still have options. I still had some sweet potato left (I had bought a huge sweet potato), but I didn’t want to do the same thing I had been doing. I decided to grate it, put it into ramekins, bake it, and top it with black beans and eggs. I have to say, it was pretty perfect. It could be breakfast, I suppose, but not really being a morning person, I made it for dinner.

This recipe is very easy, doesn’t take terribly long and is full of good stuff.

Sweet Potato Stacks with black beans and Eggs

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet Potato
Black Beans
Spinach
Eggs

Sweet Potato Stacks

1/4 sweet potato, grated
Olive Oil
Black Beans
2 Eggs
Salt, pepper, garlic powder, tumeric
Spinach
Sriracha

  1. Mix the sweet potato with some olive oil,  and seasonings. Divide into 2 oil lined ramekins and bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.
  2. Remove the ramekins from the oven, flip over onto a plate with spinach on it. Put the black beans on top.
  3. Cook your eggs however you like, I prefer a runny yolk, then put them on top of the stacks. Put some sriracha on top and enjoy.

Today was the perfect day weather wise. I was able to go and read on the beach for a little bit after I was done with my chores for today. I can’t wait for the summer.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

  • Fooddays

    May 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr    
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...