Crunchy!

Posted on May 17, 2017. Filed under: Appitizers, Snacks, Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Let’s talk snacks. Pretty much all of my posts are either healthy meals or desserts. I never really write anything about snacks. Which is weird, because I LOVE snacks. Like a lot. Especially if they’re crunchy. Even better if you can dip them in something. My favorite? Tortilla chips and queso dip. Or Unos croutons in bleu cheese (judge me, but it’s sooo gooood).

But, when I cut out processed carbs (save a mocha with whipped cream, and yesterday’s rhubarb loaf, I haven’t had any) I had to figure out what to eat for a post show/work snack, or even a during work/show snack. I bought some flavored cashews and almonds, but I wanted more. Then I remembered, I had chickpeas. You know what chickpeas makes? Hummus.

Hummus is such an easy dip to make I’m almost embarrassed to say I had been buying it. But why buy it? It only has a few ingredients, and they’re all pretty easy to find. I say pretty easy because in Chicago, Tahini sauce is pretty common, thanks to the diverse population.

This recipe is very easy, as I said. You can serve it with pita chips, or as I’ve been doing some crunchy veggies.

Sriracha Lime Hummus

Here’s what to get from the store:

Chickpeas
Tahini Sauce
Garlic
Lime Juice
Sriracha

Sriracha Lime Hummus

1 can of chickpeas
1 tbsp tahini
3 cloves garlic, peeled
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp Sriracha
Salt, pepper, paprika

  1. Put everything¬† (including the liquid from the chickpeas) in your food processor and blend until it’s your desired consistency. Taste to adjust seasonings. Serve with your favorite veggies.

I’m very proud of myself. I generally have very good self control, except of course when it comes to my favorite snacks. That being said, I’ve now been grocery shopping twice and haven’t even looked at the chips. I did have a dream that I was eating Oreos, but I don’t really crave the bad stuff. Tonight some friends and I are going to Kuma’s Korner for burgers, that’s going to be interesting. Mainly because I haven’t had anything really fatty in a while. Last night I ate a lot of the loaf batter (because, you have to) and my stomach kind of hurt after. So we’ll see how my stomach will deal with cheese burgers.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    May 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr    
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

