Archive for June 2nd, 2017

Branching out

Posted on June 2, 2017. Filed under: Breakfast, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

If you know me, you know I can’t STAND cooked spinach. To me, it looks and smells like a dead alien life form. I keep trying to eat it, but every time I try, it’s kinda mushy.

That being said, only eating my spinach salads every day can get a little boring. Today I wanted eggs, but since I hadn’t gone grocery shopping yet, I didn’t have a ton of options. What I did have was some kale, spinach, and beans. I decide to branch out and actually saute the kale and spinach in a tahini tumeric dressing.

I used a lot more kale than spinach; the kale doesn’t doesn’t cook down the same way as the spinach does, so it still had some crunch to it. I was surprised, I actually couldn’t tell the spinach was even in there. Adding the runny eggs on top helped even more.

This recipe is very easy, full of fiber, protein, vitamins A, and K. The dressing I used has been my new salad dressing, so you can make a lot and use it on more than just this dish.

Sauteed Spinach, Kale and Black beans topped with Runny Eggs and Sriracha

Here’s what to get from the store:

Tumeric
Tahini
Apple Cider Vinegar
Soy Sauce
Olive Oil
White Vinegar
Lemon Juice
Garlic Chili Sauce
Spinach
Kale
Black Beans
Eggs

Tumeric Tahini Dressing
(Note, I didn’t measure anything making this, so use your best judgement)

2 tbsp Tahini
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp white vinegar
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tbsp garlic chili sauce
Tumeric, cayanne, pepper, paprika

  1. In your blender (or a container you can use an immersion blender in) put all of the ingredients. Blend until combined. Taste to adjust seasoning.

Runny Eggs Over Spinach and Kale

2 cloves garlic, smashed
1 1/2 cup chopped kale
1 cup spinach
4 tbsp black beans
Salt, Pepper
Tumeric Tahini Dressing
2 eggs, over easy
Sriracha

  1. In a saute pan, saute the garlic until fragrant. Add the kale and spinach, cook until wilted.
  2. Add the black beans and the dressing, saute until warmed through. Serve topped with 2 runny eggs and sriracha.

I recently started a new job at a restaurant that is the complete opposite of every other place I’ve ever worked. It focuses on good for you food and any dietary restrictions a person can have. It’s good because I won’t be afraid to eat there (even though I won’t because bringing food from home is cheaper) and it inspired me to make the new salad dressing. I realized I had been using the same dressing for about 3 years, there’s nothing wrong with changing things up.

I hadn’t been able to keep up with my exercises recently because of all the training at the new job, and because of that, my whole body hurts. It’s kinda cool though, I missed that feeling a little bit.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

  • Fooddays

    June 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...